4.2.11 Mikey’s Snowboard

Mikey and I were roommates in a single family house in a suburban neighborhood. There were about 2 other roommates. We were all students going to the same school. We had just arrived back from a long trip and we had stored our snowboards at a friend’s house about 6 or 7 houses down the street, perhaps for safekeeping.  We went to this house first to retrieve our gear before going home. Mikey also kept his bmx bike there, which was customized with extra big wheels. The house was very old style, perhaps built in the early 1900’s. It had old style windows and all hardwood floors. The rooms were small and cramped, but it was nicely remodeled and modernized.

For some reason we spent a few nights there. When we were about to leave, a bunch of middle school age kids arrived, running all around the house and being hyper. I think our friend who lives here had a younger sibling who was having a birthday party or something. Mikey was anxious to get back home. We talked a little on the front porch then he walked off carrying his snowboard in hand. I don’t know what brand it is but it was longer than mine. My board was kept in a closet in a bedroom partially buried with other stuff. I was relieved that it was safe and secure. Mikey left behind his bike which he said he’d come back to get later. I checked around to make sure I got everything and remembered I had some stuff on a shelf above the TV in the living room. The TV was on and the kids were watching it. I was concerned that I’d block the view as I reached to get my stuff.

Leave a Reply

