3.5.11 Swifty

I was on a train traveling north along the California coastline approaching Oregon. The landscape was very rugged and mountainous, and the train path it took was very winding and hilly. The train was traveling rather fast, so the scenery past by quickly. The train was short, maybe about 4 or 5 cars. It wasn’t attached to any tracks; it seems it was ‘floating’ above the ground. As I looked out the right side window, I saw lots of tall peaks, concrete structures like dams, bridges or buildings, beaches, harbors, little villages, bays. The weather seemed partially cloudy. One sight I saw that caught my attention because it was strange were these people dressed in black robes with hoods wading in a tidepool as if they were walking across it to get to something.

I was on my way to a class at a community college or university campus, not sure which. The class seem like a cross between mathematics and social studies or English or American studies. It was test day. I was concerned because I didn’t feel I was fully prepared. The teacher was a lady. The test was an in-class essay on the subject of the differences between men and women’s behavior as it pertains to recycling of everyday household items. I wrote my response on a piece of folded scratch paper. I argued that women were more likely to recycle than men, because they were more concerned about the environment.

Near the end of class I went to sit at the first row at the front of the class, the seating was more like bench-style seating. Swifty came over and sat next to me on my right. After a short period he spoke to me, saying that he had read many scripts and felt mine was one of the best and wanted to go ahead to work with me on it. I was no doubt very surprised to see him, that he would talk to me, know who I am, to finally met him in person, that he would pick my script and was willing to participate in my project. But I was relieved nonetheless. I said sure, that would be awesome, but I wasn’t planning to work on it right now and that certain issues needed to be resolved before production, mainly locations and finding a director and a cinematographer. He said he’ll try to help me out on that. We continued to talk for a little after class in an indoor common area that resembled a library/lounge/museum, with items mostly from European history on display. He went off to join a couple of his friends, then a girl driving a limo came and picked him up in a crowded quad on campus. There were lots of other students surrounding the limo and trying to get his attention, as if he was already a movie star. He seemed really cool I guess that’s why he’s so popular.

Leave a Reply

