12.17.10 Town Hall Gathering at Park

I was at a park in an outlying woody hilly area to attend some kind of community event/get together. In this forum area there were a handful of guest speakers of community leaders and one high level very important person, a  man, like a national politician. It was a bright summer day, sunny and warm. There were lots of people there, and there were green lawns everywhere and plenty of shady trees. Town residents brought their picnic supplies. A lady was selling kitchen knifes that were spread in a display on the lawn. Free fruit punch in medium size soda cups were being handed out. I didn’t seem to be interested in listening to the guest speakers, yet it seemed mandatory, like going to school. One of the speakers was a young guy who had a BMX nearby. He was sitting on a concrete or rock wall divider.

After I finished drinking my punch I wandered around looking to refill the cup with water from the running water coming out of one of the garden hoses. I found one near that guy with the BMX. I found another one by the fence, at the far end of the park away from the speaker forum area. The park was crowded with lots of people, like an outdoor rock concert. As I was refilling with water from the garden hose, a girl who recognized me came up to me. It was Camille (next door neighbor who I know in real life). I was definitely surprised to see her and that she remembered me. She asked me if I’d like to go with her and have a “drink” together. I thought about how to respond.

“Right now?” I asked.

“No, afterwards”, she said.

I said yeah, but was surprised because she was underage to be drinking. I keep having a hard time pronouncing her name, and she kept correcting me. I suggested we should exchange numbers. As I left to get my phone which I had left with a group of friends, she walked towards a group of her friends approaching from the parking lot. While searching for my phone I also looked for my camera, which I seem to have lost and was no where to be found. I think someone snagged it.

Leave a Reply

