12.31.09

Just got back from my Tahoe snowboarding trip! Had a great time. Once again I took the train. I stayed in downtown Reno, went to Mt Rose and Squaw Valley. Came back Christmas Day. There had been a big storm there before I arrived so there was lots of snow, but during my visit to the mountain the weather was sunny so the snow was somewhat hard and compacted compared to what I’ve seen in the past. On this trip I put my new setup to the test: new DC boots, Burton bindings and Burton Dragon 156. My new setup definitely rocked, though I found I just needed treak the forward lean on those new bindings. It’s nice that Burton has included tool-less adjustments on its bindings. There were many ‘firsts’ on this trip:

  1. First trip to bring my snowboard aboard the train
  2. First time to have 2 off-hill days
  3. First time to not go to Northstar
  4. First time to go to Tahoe during the 2 week winter break
  5. First trip to shoot both pictures and video from a single device small enough to fit in my pants pocket
  6. First time to sightsee northwest Reno and visit Grandma’s grave
  7. First time to walk along Virginia St from Moana Ln to downtown
  8. First time to take Reno’s public transit
  9. First time to get a haircut during a snowboard trip
  10. First trip to ride with my new setup
  11. First trip to have meet many people on the train ride there and back and on the ski buses
  12. First time to ride rails at both Rose and Squaw and first time to try tree skiing – going off trail and boarding in between trees – lots of fun!
  13. First trip to make a new Facebook friend
  14. First trip to have photos taken by a professional photographer skiing downhill with me
  15. First time to dine at a downtown Reno BBQ house

One of the snowboard videos on my Youtube that I personally shot, People Falling of the Chairlift, has reached the 100,000 views mark a few weeks ago! I have shot many snowboarding videos but for some reason this one took off with a life of its own. Yes, it was inspired by a Warren Miller ski film.

Just a few more hours until new years. Happy new year!

Leave a Reply

