10.07.09

newsunglass

I finally purchased my first sunglasses since 2000/2001, earlier this morning at a vendor on campus. The new one has an all-black frame and fits very comfortably.  The current one I’ve had for a long time, almost 9 years. The frame above the lens cracked from a skateboarding fall this past spring. It is some generic X-Games label brand. I guess the name is implying that these shades are the shades worn by X-Games competitors. I bought these on sale in Oregon at a department store called Emporium, which has since gone out of business.

Nicole helped me record the narration for my 30-sec multimedia project this afternoon. I brought the script and the recording gear and it went very well. We did the recording in a quiet office corridor across from from the career center.

bfnkng_table

bfnkng_cu

Today was the first time I ate at Beef Noodle King in Rowland Heights. Being midweek it wasn’t too busy there. It’s located inside a food court. Apparently the way you order is by going to the counter and placing your order, which the cashier writes on a ticket, then you take a seat anywhere you like. The food is then brought out to you, like Carls Jr, except this is definitely not fast food quality. I tried their signature soup bowl the beef stew noodle soup and cong yu bing, or green onion pie, one of my favorites. Everything was excellent. The soup bowl was a generous portion of soup, noodles, some leafy greens, and beef chunks. The beef was tender and delicious. The soup was tasty but not too salty of spicy, just the way I like it. The green onion pie was just the way I expected it to be: golden brown crust and very flakey. Yumm. It was a big pie cut into 8 slices. I couldn’t finish it so I took the leftovers home. This combination, of soup and pie, is amazingly filling and satisfying. It’s perfect for cool weather. A customer told me that this beef soup noodle that I ordered is called neu-roh mein in Chinese.

After I ate I chatted with a couple sitting nearby who spoke very broken English. The lady said she’s also a university student and likes coming there because the prices are very cheap. The guy told me that this restaurant is a northern China cuisine. He said northern China favors foods made with flour, while southern China likes rice. He was also saying something that the spicy Szechuan cuisine is supposed to make you sweet because it improves circulation, especially during the monsoon season when sweating may be hampered. I’m not sure if I fully understand since his English was hard to comprehend, but it’s interesting. He told me that the restaurant across the food court is Taiwanese cuisine, and the other ones are southern China cuisine that serve hot pots and spicy dishes.

Leave a Reply

